In honor of my grandmother, Betty, who taught all of her 6 children to love reading and writing at an early age.

The Betty Award

A writing contest for kids ages 8-12

The Betty Award has both a Spring and Fall contest.

Enter now for the Fall 2022 contest!

The deadline is October 15, 2022.

Deadline for Fall 2022 Entries

All entries must be postmarked no later than October 15, 2022. Winners will be notified by December 1, 2022.


1st - $300 usd
2nd - $200 usd
3rd - $100 usd

The Spring 2022 Winners Are

1st Place: Scarlett LaMontagna, Age 11
First Place: The Reversal
2nd Place: Brandon Li, Age 12
3rd Place: Arissa Jade Chui, Age 9
Honorable Mention: Nolan Caskey, Age 8

How To Enter

To enter, simply fill out our online form.

Or to enter via mail, download the entry form, type your story and mail it to us with the reading fee to

The Betty Award
P.O. Box 1826
Oak Park, IL 60304

Reading Fee

There is a $20 US reading fee per story.
Please make check or money order payable to The Betty Award.


Winning Spring 2022 entries will be published on this website after August 1, 2022.